top of page

WACE Western Australia


  • The Western Australia Certificate of Education (WACE), is the Western Australia Certificate of Education. The WACE exam is an international exam that Australian high school students must take when applying for Australian universities.     

  • This examination is equivalent to the Hong Kong Diploma Examination DSE.  


  • The WACE course helps students receive authentic Australian high school curriculum education and further develops students' foreign language ability. At the same time, it also systematically develops thinking and learning skills that are more compatible with international education, laying a good foundation to smoothly integrate into a university.   


  • At present, WACE test scores have been recognized by more than 3000 universities in the world such as the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Singapore, Australia, and New Zealand. 

  • Students who take the WACE exam can directly register or apply to thousands of world-renowned universities such as the University of Sydney, the University of Melbourne in Australia, the University of Oxford and Cambridge in the United Kingdom, Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the United States, Auckland University of Technology in New Zealand and the University of Toronto in Canada.

Requirements to Obtain a Certificate

  • Complete at least 20 course units or equivalent courses in grades 11 and 12.    


  • Complete at least 10, 12th grade units or equivalent.     

  • Achieve at least 14 C’s or higher in the 11th and 12th grade units, including at least 6 C’s in the 12th grade unit.     

  • Complete two grade 11 English units and two grade 12 English units. 


  • Complete a pair of units in Grade 12, choosing from List A (Art/Language/Social Sciences) and List B (Mathematics/Science/Technology).     

  • Reach level 8 in the 9th grade NAPLAN exam. Students who fail the prequalification will participate in the online literacy and arithmetic assessment (OLNA) in the first semester of the 10th grade. If the standard is not met, there will be as many as five opportunities to try again.

Evaluation Criteria

  • The advantage of the WACE exam is that it is not a lifelong exam model. 


  • During the exam, five subjects are tested. When calculating the score, the one with the lowest score will be removed, and the four with the higher score will be counted as the test score.   


  • The test scores only account for 50% of the total score, and the usual scores account for 50%.     

  • The usual results include student performance at school, class attendance, group essays, individual test scores, and so on. 


  • This kind of examination system more truly reflects a students’ English proficiency, and can avoid the situation where a candidate may miss out on their preferred university due solely to mistakes in the final examination.

How is the ATAR Ranking Calculated?

Tertiary Entrance Aggregate (TEA) has a full score of 430 points. Except for the 4 subjects with the highest scores, another 30 additional points come from LOTE (Language Other than English), Mathematics Methods and Mathematics Specialist, each count for 10 points

Please refer to the following comparison table for the ATAR ranking:

Please see the following student’s case:

bottom of page