top of page

​Education System

Australia's education system was roughly inherited from the United Kingdom. It is under the jurisdiction of the state or territorial governments, and the federal government is responsible for supervision and management.  Quality education is therefore guaranteed to a certain extent, and the academic qualifications awarded are all internationally recognized. Australian colleges and universities are known for providing high-quality education. There are a variety of courses for students to choose from, including English courses, primary and secondary schools, university foundation courses, certificates, diplomas, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. Students can choose from a variety of options when planning to study in Australia.

Elementary and Middle School

The Australian primary and secondary education curriculum is 12 years in length and runs from Year 1 to Year 12. The education system is divided into public and private schools. Middle schools are generally from Year 7 to Year 12.  In some states, Year 7 is the last year of elementary school. Years 11 to 12 are considered high school program, which is the preparatory stage for university. After completing high school, students will take the public examinations as set out in their region (except Queensland), and then progress to the first year of university. Different states and territories have different examination systems and scoring methods.

State/Territory Examination Systems


New South Wales


South Australia

Western Australia

Post-secondary Education

In addition to universities, Australia currently has more than 300 Technical and Further Education colleges (TAFE), private technical colleges and English centers, which provide students with English courses, basic courses, and a variety of practical and professional certificate and diploma programs. Giving  students alternative paths to further their education. 


There are nearly 43 universities in Australia that provide students with bachelor's, postgraduate diploma, master's and doctoral programs. Some universities also provide basic courses for overseas students, all of which are recognized by the Australian government. The Ministry of Education reviews the academic performance of each university every year to ensure that it maintains a certain level. Although Australia only has a history of more than 100 years, it has nurtured 15 Nobel Prize winners. Australia is home to the world famous "Group of  Eight" universities, so more and more students are choosing to study in Australia.

bottom of page